skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only
Biography Resource Center + The Complete Marquis Who's Who (GALE CENGAGE Learning) A full text database

The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines more than 422,000 biographies on more than 335,000 people gathered from respected Thomson Gale reference sources with nearly one million additional biographies from the complete Marquis Who's Who. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 300 periodicals.

Search for people using name, birth date, death date, places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender. Criteria can be combined to create a custom search.

See the tip sheet or the navigation guide for complete search instructions.

[back]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000