skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only
PressDisplay (NewspaperDirect) A full text database

PressDisplay provides instant online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The collection currently includes over 800 U.S. and international titles. The Austin American-Statesman is available on PressDisplay. Users get access to a wide-range of current newspapers from Europe, Latin America, Asia, the Middle East, and the U.S. Just like reading the familiar print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. The service also provides up to a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles and the entire backfile.

PressDisplay features:

  • Front-page News - the front page of the interface offers categories such as Top News, Business, Sports, and the World in Pictures.
  • Multi-title searching - users can search across all titles and the entire 60-day rolling archive.
  • Full-page and custom area printing for all titles - users can print page images, in addition to article-level printing available in SmartNavigation titles.
  • Article Rank-measures the interest or popularity of an article, which is determined by the length of time readers spend on that specific article and by the overall attention the article received from all users. Article Rank is continually updated to reflect the most current reading preferences as determined by PressDisplay readers.
  • Librarian's Picks - Displays the most popular newspapers on the home page.
  • Multilingual Interface - the interface is available in English, French, Russian, Italian, German, and Arabic.

Take a product tour.

[back]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000