skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (Oxford University Press) A full text database

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) features fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using languages. Offering over 4 million words, phrases and translations in English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese, OLDO also features native speaker audio pronunciation - allowing you to hear how words actually sound!

More than just a dictionary, OLDO offers a complete suite of language learning support materials for users of all levels: click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, hundreds sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, extensive links to other sites for further research, and more!

[back]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000