skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only
Factiva (Dow Jones) A full text database

Factiva provides access to the full text of thousands of newspapers, newswires, magazines, and TV and radio transcripts from 152 countries in 22 languages. The News Pages offer the most current issues of publications including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. Select custom news pages for industries and regions worldwide. Pictures from Reuters and the McClatchy-Tribune Photo Service are included. See a database tip for instructions on limiting your search to a specific source.

To search for all the articles on a specific date and in a specific publication, you will need to know the publication's source code (rst=).
To Find the source code

  • Click on Source in the blue frame under the search boxes in the Free Text Search
  • Type the name of the publication and click on the small blue arrow to search
  • Under Source Results click on the small button with the i in the center for information on the publication
  • The Source Code is listed after the description. You can also find the most recent issue, first issue, frequency, update schedule, online availability and coverage.
  • The source code for the Austin American Statesman is AAS
  • The format for searching for date is : date mm/dd/yyyy
  • Now that you know the source code type rst=AAS and date 04/14/2009 in the free text search box.

A Company search provides company reports, news, competitors, corporate performance, and contact information. Use Quotes to retrieve current and historical pricing on a variety of financial instruments including stocks, funds, currencies, and market indexes. Then use the Charting area to get a graphical view of the numbers.

View a video for tips on searching Factiva.

See the Factiva Inside- Out: Complete End-User Guide

Search Factiva sources by title, language, geographical region, or industry sector. Some sources are not available to public libraries.

[back]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000