skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only
Literature Resource Center (GALE CENGAGE Learning) A TexShare Database A full text database

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Literature Resource Center covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes, or combine criteria to create a custom search path.

Resources included are

  • Contemporary Authors Online, updated monthly. More current than the print edition. The most recent and complete version of an author's entry is included.
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism, featuring entries on all authors appearing in the CLC since volume 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to volume 95
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography, including everything through volume 323 of the print set except images, yearbooks, and the Documentary Series
  • Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
  • Scribner Writer's Series, featuring more than 1,500 biocritical essays on authors of all nationalities and time periods
  • Twayne's Author's Series, including Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors
  • Selected material from Gale's For Students series
  • Selected material from Gale's Literature Criticism series

See also the Gale Literary Index, an author and title index to 40 major literature series published by the Gale Group. Many of these series are available in print form at the Austin Public Library.

See the Guide to Conducting Literary Research for tips on selecting a topic, crafting a thesis, evaluating sources, and writing a research paper.

See the tip sheet for help searching Literature Resource Center.

[back]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000