skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) (EBSCO) A TexShare Database A full text database

Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides convenient access to authoritative and easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular health and medical reference books, full-text magazine articles, and medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. The database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, men's and women's health, and children's health.

Consumer Health Complete (CHC) offers several searching and browsing features:

  • The Quick Find feature provides easy access to thousands of health reports on common diseases, conditions, and injuries.
  • The Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary, available from the toolbar, provides an easy way to look up medical terms.
  • The Browse Popular Sources feature offers browsing and searching of medical encyclopedias and health-related reference books.
  • The Search by Topic feature provides the ability to search and/or browse within the database by topic.

See the Title list.

Take an online tutorial.

[back]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000