skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only
Morningstar Investment Research Center (Morningstar) A full text database

Designed specifically for individual investors, the Morningstar Investment Research Center database includes research on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds (ETFs). The database also allows you to build and test a portfolio and to take interactive workshops and classes to sharpen your investing skills. Use the Morningstar Investment Research Center tools described below to monitor your investments.

Screeners: Create short lists of possible investments in mutual funds, stocks, and ETFs. Select from hundreds of data points in categories including ratings, valuation measures, growth rates and profitability measures, earnings estimates, financial statement data, risk and return data, dividends, and shares/ownership to find investments. Or use Morningstar Pre-Set Screens that offer enough variety to satisfy the investing style and goals of most investors.

Recommendations: Links in the Screeners area on the home page take investors directly to Morningstar’s highest-rated stocks and fund analyst picks.

Reports and Returns: Use financial reports to analyze the funds, stocks, and ETFs in your portfolios, those you’ve read about, or those on lists created with Morningstar Screeners. A Morningstar analyst’s in-depth analysis and guidance on buying and selling is available for many investments. Current and historical performances for indexes, industries, sectors, and fund categories are also available.

Industries : View index, sector, industry, and fund category returns over a variety of time periods. Returns are updated daily.

Portfolio X-Ray: A sophisticated analytical tool that allows you to view your portfolios in a variety of ways, and then make intelligent decisions about adding, dropping, or reallocating investments. Morningstar’s graphical representation of results is easy to understand and the Portfolio Interpreter provides a plain-English explana¬tion of what the data means and suggests ways to modify a portfolio.

Help and Education: one-stop shop for investment education. Whether you’re looking for direction when using the site, tips for choosing funds or stocks, or the definition of an investment term, you’ll find it all here.

[back]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000