skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only
ReferenceUSA Business & Residential Directory (InfoUSA) A full text database

The ReferenceUSA databases contains detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and 115 million households. The business and residential databases are updated on the third Thursday and Friday of each month .

Search business listings by name, address, phone number, company name, industry, geography, and other special selections. Details on businesses include toll free and fax numbers, sales volume, number of employees, ticker symbols, and owner/executive names. See a database tip for instructions on how to use the Custom Search feature and to create and download customized lists.

ReferenceUSA's residential information is compiled from telephone directories. Each listing appears in the database exactly as it appears in the phone book. Search by name, phone number, address, or various other geographical limiters including zip and area codes. Information is available 8 to 12 weeks after it appears in the phone book, and the file is processed through U.S. National Change of Address records monthly. Each U.S. residential listing also contains information from the most recent U.S. census, including median household income, median home value, latitude/longitude, and percentage of owner-occupied housing.

New Businesses is updated weekly with more than 40,000 new businesses nationwide and more than 200 in Travis County. Search by business name, type, filing type, geography, phone, home-based business, and time frame. Track new areas of economic development and research and find new businesses that could use your goods or services.

Lifestyles offers 19 categories with subheadings to identify consumers based on their lifestyles, hobbies, and interests. Search specific geographic areas for potential customers who have interests in your products or services. Economic factors such as median home income and median home value can also be incorporated into the search.

You may print or download 50 records at a time in the Library and 25 records at a time remotely.

See ReferenceUSA help pages for search hints and technical advice. Take the ReferenceUSA tutorial for search tips.

View a video for tips on creating a list of businesses.

[back]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000