skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only

Alphabetical List

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | all

Academic Search Complete A TexShare Database A full text database
Thousands of scholarly, full-text journals covering nearly all academic areas of study [more]
AccessScience A full text database
Full text of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th edition [more]
AGRICOLA A TexShare Database
Citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library [more]
Alt HealthWatch A TexShare Database A full text database
Complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness [more]
American Decades Primary Sources A full text database
Covers the twentieth century in 10 volumes. [more]
Ancestry Library Edition A full text database Library use only
Library access only
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical research [more]
APL Research Guide: Job Searching A full text database
Created by APL librarians [more]
APL Research Guide: Language Learning Resources
Created by APL librarians [more]
Arts and Humanities through the Eras A full text database
This five volume set covers Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe, Renaissance Europe, and the Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment. [more]
Austin American-Statesman A TexShare Database A full text database
Search and view articles back to 1996. See Factiva for articles back to 1989. PressDisplay has today's Austin American-Statesman and a two month backfile. [more]
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) A TexShare Database
Citations to articles covering native North American culture, history, and life [more]
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Search by subject, artist, author, article or journal title [more]
Biography Resource Center + The Complete Marquis Who's Who A full text database
Information on people throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas [more]
Black Women in America A full text database Library use only
Records the achievements of black women throughout American history and highlights their ongoing contributions today [more]
Books in Print 2.0 A full text database
Search for books, eBooks, audio books, and videos with a new simple search. [more]
Books In Print Professional A full text database
Information and reviews for in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audio books, and videos [more]
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Simplified Chinese in Global Reference Cntr
[more]
Britannica Kids A full text database
Includes three encyclopedias, plus links to magazine articles and Web sites. [more]
Britannica Online Japan in Global Reference Center A full text database
[more]
Britannica Online Korea in Global Reference Center A full text database
[more]
Britannica Online School Encyclopedia A full text database
[more]
Britannica Remote A full text database
[more]
Business & Company Resource Center A full text database
Company profiles and histories, mergers and acquisitions, news and magazine articles, financials, rankings, and market share data [more]
Business Source Complete A TexShare Database A full text database
Full text for more than 8,800 business serials, company profiles, and market research [more]
ChiltonLibrary.com A full text database
Domestic and import vehicle information updated monthly.
When finished please log out to allow other users access to the database. The Library's subscription allows only 2 concurrent users. [more]
College Navigator A full text database
Find the right college for you. . . [more]
Computer Source A TexShare Database A full text database
Full-text articles cover technical and consumer topics [more]
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) A TexShare Database A full text database
Covers all areas of health and wellness [more]
Consumer Reports A TexShare Database A full text database
Full text of Consumer Reports including the most current issue and issues back to January, 1991 from the MasterFile Premier database. [more]
CQ Researcher A full text database
In-depth, unbiased analysis and reporting on current and controversial issues [more]
Dictionary of American History A full text database
For students, scholars, and general readers interested in American history. [more]
Digital Microfilm A full text database
Digital microfilm of Barron's, The Houston Chronicle, The New York Times, and The Wall street Journal from 2008. [more]
Directory of Open Access Journals A full text database
Indexing, abstracting, and full text for selected international scholarly journals [more]
EB Remote
[more]
EBSCOhost EJS A full text database Library use only
Web access to selected publications that the Library subscribes to in print [more]
EBSCOhost Web - All databases A TexShare Database A full text database
View and search all the Ebscohost research databases available through APL [more]
Economía y Negocios A TexShare Database
Citas de artículos en las áreas de negocios y economía en español y portugués
Citations to articles on business and economics in Spanish and Portuguese [more]
eJournal Finder
Index to full text periodicals included in APL databases [more]
eLibrary Curriculum Edition A TexShare Database A full text database
A comprehensive database designed specifically for K-12 students [more]
Emerald Library use only
Indexing and abstracts for selected library periodicals published by Emerald [more]
Enciclopedia Juvenil A full text database
[more]
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Reference Center A full text database
Full text of the Encyclopædia with lots of added content. [more]
Encyclopaedia Universalis in Global Reference Center A full text database
[more]
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 A full text database Library use only
Covers the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass. See also Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present. Both books are also included in Oxford Reference Online. [more]
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the present A full text database Library use only
From the age of segregation to the twenty-fist century. See also Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895. Both books are also included in Oxford Reference Online. [more]
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion A full text database
This three volume set covers clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. [more]
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A full text database
Covers food and its place in human culture and society. [more]
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World A full text database
Covers Islam's role in the modern world [more]
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics A full text database
Covers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues raised by science and technology. [more]
ERIC A TexShare Database A full text database
Bibliographic records of education literature, plus a growing collection of full text [more]
Factiva A full text database
More than 14,000 sources from 159 countries in 22 languages, plus company reports and current and historical market data [more]
Factiva (Español) A full text database
Provee contenidos de orden mundial [more]
FamilySearch A full text database
The largest collection of free family history, family tree, and genealogy records in the world. [more]
Fiction Connection A full text database
A reader's advisory tool for adult, young adult, and children's fiction [more]
FindIt Plus A full text database
Search APL's catalog and selected databases with one search! [more]
Foundation Directory Online Professional A full text database Library use only
Information on grantmakers and grants
Library access only. A Library staff member must log customers into the site. When finished please log out to allow others access to the database. The Library's subscription allows only 3 concurrent users. [more]
Fuente Académica A TexShare Database A full text database
Base de datos a texto completo que incluye 260 revistas académicas en Español
Full text of 260 scholarly publications in Spanish [more]
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia A TexShare Database A full text database
Over 25,000 entries, images, and brief biographies [more]
Gale (all Gale databases) A full text database
View and search all the Gale research databases available through APL [more]
Gale Texas LegalForms A full text database
Legal forms specific to Texas include official, state-specific litigation, business, personal, real estate, and general forms.
Warning: Users should consult an attorney for serious legal matters. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library A full text database
Reference eBooks from Gale on the arts, history, religion, and social science are always available [more]
Global Reference Center A full text database
Comprehensive online content in Spanish, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Japanese, and French [more]
Global Road Warrior A full text database
Social, cultural, travel, and business information for 175 countries [more]
Good Reads
A collection of lists and links created by APL librarians for book lovers [more]
Gran Enciclopedia Planeta A full text database
[more]
GreenFILE
A bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns [more]
Handbook of Texas Online A full text database
Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture [more]
Health & Wellness Resource Center A TexShare Database A full text database
Up-to-date reference material, periodicals, and pamphlets [more]
Health Organization Directory A TexShare Database A full text database
Directory information from Gale's Medical and Health Information Directory [more]
Health Reference Center - Academic A TexShare Database A full text database
A one-stop, full service resource for health-related research [more]
Health Source: Consumer Edition A TexShare Database A full text database
Authoritative health-related information [more]
Health Source: Nursing/Academic A TexShare Database A full text database
Full-text journals with strong coverage of nursing and allied health topics [more]
HeritageQuest Online A TexShare Database A full text database
Genealogy research tools including Federal Census, family and local histories, and more [more]
History of the American Cinema A full text database
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. [more]
History Study Center A TexShare Database A full text database
Historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events [more]
Information Science & Technology Abstracts A TexShare Database
Index to journals, books, research reports, and conference proceeding [more]
InfoTrac Newspapers A TexShare Database A full text database
Search and view articles from more than 140 U.S. and international newspapers [more]
Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts A TexShare Database
Index to trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals [more]
JOBview Austin A full text database
Find jobs in Austin, other Texas cities, and other states. [more]
JSTOR A full text database
Academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences [more]
Kids Search A TexShare Database A full text database
Middle and Junior High school students can search multiple databases simultaneously [more]
LearningExpress eBooks A full text database
Study guides and test-preparation books for school, licensing, certification, or competitive entry-level exams [more]
LearningExpressLibrary.com A full text database
Academic, civil service, GED, military, and professional and certification practice tests [more]
Legal Collection A TexShare Database A full text database
Scholarly law journals covering current issues and trends of the legal world [more]
Library of Texas A full text database
Search the TexShare databases and multiple Texas library catalogs simultaneously [more]
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) A TexShare Database
Index to more than 600 periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings [more]
Literature Resource Center A TexShare Database A full text database
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of literary works from every age and discipline [more]
Magill's Medical Guide A full text database
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format [more]
MAS Ultra - School Edition A TexShare Database A full text database
Mas Ultra - School Edition is included in Student Research Center [more]
MasterFILE Premier A TexShare Database A full text database
Magazine articles, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags [more]
MedicLatina A TexShare Database A full text database
Texto completo con cerca de 100 revistas avaladas por profesionales en el área de medicina en Español
Full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in Spanish [more]
MEDLINE A TexShare Database
Citations to journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine [more]
Middle Search Plus A TexShare Database A full text database
Middle Search Plus is included in Student Research Center, Kids Search, and Searchasaurus [more]
Military & Government Collection A TexShare Database
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government [more]
Morningstar Investment Research Center A full text database
Independent reports on 30,000 mutual funds, stocks, and ETFs for the individual investor
Please log off by clicking on the End Session link to allow others access to the database. The Library subscription allows only 4 concurrent users. [more]
National Library of Medicine A full text database
Consumer health information resources including MedlinePlus [more]
Natural & Alternative Treatments (NAT) A TexShare Database A full text database
Complementary and alternative medicine information for the consumer-health researcher [more]
NetLibrary eBooks A TexShare Database A full text database
Comprehensive collection of online books and resource materials for all ages [more]
Newspaper Source A TexShare Database A full text database
Full text of US and international newspapers and radio and TV news shows [more]
Oxford Dictionaries Online A full text database
Modern English dictionaries, thesauruses, and usage guides from Oxford University Press [more]
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States A full text database Library use only
offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information on the topics of identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history [more]
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) A full text database
Search the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words [more]
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online A full text database
French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese language resources [more]
Oxford Reference Online Premium A full text database
Language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press [more]
Patron Books in Print A full text database
User-friendly and comprehensive database of books, audio books, and movies [more]
Powerspeak Languages A full text database
Learn Spanish, French, Mandarin, German, or English for Spanish speakers [more]
PressDisplay A full text database
More than 800 of today's newspapers from 80 countries in 40 languages, including the Austin American-Statesman
When finished please sign out to allow others access to the database. The Library's subscription allows only 5 concurrent users. [more]
Primary Search A TexShare Database A full text database
Primary Search is included in Kid Search and Searchasaurus. [more]
Professional Development Collection A TexShare Database A full text database
A comprehensive collection of full-text education journals [more]
ProQuest Digital Microfilm A full text database
Digital microfilm of Barron's, The Houston Chronicle, The New York Times, and The Wall street Journal from 2008. [more]
Proquest Learning: Literature A TexShare Database A full text database
600 years of literature by more than 3,000 authors [more]
PStest Library use only
[more]
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection A TexShare Database A full text database
A comprehensive collection of full-text, peer-reviewed journals [more]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Index to general-interest periodicals published in the US from 1890 - 1982 [more]
ReferenceUSA Business & Residential Directory A full text database
Directory information for 14 million U.S. businesses and 115 million households updated monthly [more]
Regional Business News A TexShare Database A full text database
Comprehensive full text for regional business publications [more]
Religion & Philosophy Collection A TexShare Database A full text database
Full-text journals with coverage of theology and philosophical studies [more]
ResumeMaker A TexShare Database A full text database
Create a resume and cover letter, view sample interviews, research salaries, and search for jobs. [more]
Salem History A full text database Library use only
Includes Milestone Documents in American History and The Sixties in America [more]
Salud en Español A TexShare Database A full text database
Consumer Health Complete ofrece investigación comprensiva en Español sobre condiciones, procedimientos, tratamientos y noticias de salud. [more]
SAMS Photofact Online Index A full text database Library use only
Find the folder number of the schematic you need to locate it in the reference collection at Faulk Central Library (R 621.388 PH) [more]
Science & Technology Collection A TexShare Database A full text database
More than 800 full-text journals plus indexing and abstracts for more publications [more]
science.gov A full text database
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and over 2000 selected websites, offering authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results. [more]
Searchasaurus A TexShare Database A full text database
Designed for elementary school students [more]
Serials Directory A TexShare Database A full text database
Bibliographic information and current prices for US and international serial titles [more]
SOSDirect A full text database Library use only
Library access only
Up-to-date information about Texas business organizations [more]
Spanish Books in Print A full text database
Reseñas de libros, videos, y música en Español
Reviews of Spanish-language books, videos, and audio [more]
Spanish Reference Center A full text database
Includes the Enciclopedia Juvenil, Enciclopedia Universal, and PlanetaSaber. (PlanetaSaber is not available outside the Library.) [more]
SRDS Standard Rate & Data Service A full text database Library use only
Available at the Faulk Central Library only. A librarian will log you on. Please log off when finished since only one user at a time can access the database.
A database of media rates and information [more]
Student Research Center A TexShare Database A full text database
Content includes magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, multimedia [more]
TDNet Journal Locator A TexShare Database Library use only
Searchable list of all the journal titles available in the TexShare databases. Use as a back up to eJournal Finder [more]
Texas County Highway Maps A full text database
Search the maps by county or by place name [more]
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps A TexShare Database A full text database
Detailed property and land-use records of Texas towns and cities from 1867 to 1970 [more]
Texas LegalForms A full text database
Legal forms specific to Texas include official, state-specific litigation, business, personal, real estate, and general forms. Warning: Users should consult an attorney for serious legal matters. [more]
Texas Reference Center A TexShare Database A full text database
Full-text articles and books about Texas and Texans [more]
TexShare Home Page A TexShare Database A full text database
Authoritative, full-text articles from verifiable, subscription-only sources. [more]
TOPICSearch A TexShare Database A full text database
Current events database spotlights social, political, and economic issues [more]
TumbleBook Library A full text database
Animated, talking picture books for kids [more]
Twentieth Century American and English Poetry Collections A TexShare Database A full text database
Collections of poetry in full text [more]
Value Line Investment Survey Plus Edition A full text database
Coverage of 1,700 stocks in The Value Line Investment Survey and 1,800 in the The Small and Mid-Cap edition [more]
Vocational & Career Collection A TexShare Database A full text database
Full-text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals [more]
World History Collection A TexShare Database A full text database
A global look at history with full-text content from international journals [more]
World Trade Ref A full text database
A comprehensive world trade database [more]
WorldCat A TexShare Database A full text database
Catalog that contains all the records cataloged by member libraries worldwide -- use for interlibrary loan requests [more]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000