skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only

Biography

See databases under specific subjects for biographical information on people in that field.

Biography Resource Center + The Complete Marquis Who's Who A full text database
Information on people throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas [more]
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Reference Center A full text database
Full text of the Encyclopædia with lots of added content. [more]
MasterFILE Premier A TexShare database A full text database
Magazine articles, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags [more]
History Study Center A TexShare database A full text database
Historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events [more]
Oxford Reference Online Premium A full text database
Language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press [more]
JSTOR A full text database
Academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences [more]
AccessScience A full text database
Full text of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th edition [more]
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 A full text database Library use only
Covers the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass. See also Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present. Both books are also included in Oxford Reference Online. [more]
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the present A full text database Library use only
From the age of segregation to the twenty-fist century. See also Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895. Both books are also included in Oxford Reference Online. [more]
Black Women in America A full text database Library use only
Records the achievements of black women throughout American history and highlights their ongoing contributions today [more]
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States A full text database Library use only
offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information on the topics of identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history [more]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000