skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only

History & Government

See also the Primary Sources page.

World History Collection A TexShare database A full text database
A global look at history with full-text content from international journals [more]
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Reference Center A full text database
Full text of the Encyclopædia with lots of added content. [more]
Academic Search Complete A TexShare database A full text database
Thousands of scholarly, full-text journals covering nearly all academic areas of study [more]
JSTOR A full text database
Academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences [more]
MasterFILE Premier A TexShare database A full text database
Magazine articles, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library A full text database
Reference eBooks from Gale on the arts, history, religion, and social science are always available [more]
Oxford Reference Online Premium A full text database
Language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press [more]
Military & Government Collection A TexShare database
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government [more]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Index to general-interest periodicals published in the US from 1890 - 1982 [more]
Salem History A full text database Library use only
Includes Milestone Documents in American History and The Sixties in America [more]
Dictionary of American History A full text database
For students, scholars, and general readers interested in American history. [more]
American Decades Primary Sources A full text database
Covers the twentieth century in 10 volumes. [more]
Arts and Humanities through the Eras A full text database
This five volume set covers Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe, Renaissance Europe, and the Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment. [more]
Global Road Warrior A full text database
Social, cultural, travel, and business information for 175 countries [more]
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion A full text database
This three volume set covers clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. [more]
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) A TexShare database
Citations to articles covering native North American culture, history, and life [more]
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 A full text database Library use only
Covers the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass. See also Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present. Both books are also included in Oxford Reference Online. [more]
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the present A full text database Library use only
From the age of segregation to the twenty-fist century. See also Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895. Both books are also included in Oxford Reference Online. [more]
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States A full text database Library use only
offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information on the topics of identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history [more]
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A full text database
Covers food and its place in human culture and society. [more]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000