skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only

Homework Helpers

Tip: Write Your Report Using the Reference Databases!

Databases listed below contain information suitable for students from elementary through high school. See the Subject Guide for additional databases on specific subjects.

Elementary

TumbleBook Library A full text database
Animated, talking picture books for kids [more]
Britannica Kids A full text database
Includes three encyclopedias, plus links to magazine articles and Web sites. [more]
eLibrary Curriculum Edition A Texshare database A full text database
A comprehensive database designed specifically for K-12 students [more]
Searchasaurus A Texshare database A full text database
Designed for elementary school students [more]
Kids Search A Texshare database A full text database
Middle and Junior High school students can search multiple databases simultaneously [more]
LearningExpressLibrary.com A full text database
Academic, civil service, GED, military, and professional and certification practice tests [more]
Recommended Web Sites: Homework Helpers A full text database
Links to sites freely available on the Web [more]

Middle School

Student Research Center A Texshare database A full text database
Content includes magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, multimedia [more]
Britannica Kids A full text database
Includes three encyclopedias, plus links to magazine articles and Web sites. [more]
eLibrary Curriculum Edition A Texshare database A full text database
A comprehensive database designed specifically for K-12 students [more]
CQ Researcher A full text database
In-depth, unbiased analysis and reporting on current and controversial issues [more]
Britannica Online School Encyclopedia A full text database
[more]
Kids Search A Texshare database A full text database
Middle and Junior High school students can search multiple databases simultaneously [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library A full text database
Reference eBooks from Gale on the arts, history, religion, and social science are always available [more]
NetLibrary eBooks A Texshare database A full text database
Comprehensive collection of online books and resource materials for all ages [more]
LearningExpressLibrary.com A full text database
Academic, civil service, GED, military, and professional and certification practice tests [more]
Recommended Web Sites: Homework Helpers A full text database
Links to sites freely available on the Web [more]

High School and above

Student Research Center A Texshare database A full text database
Content includes magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, multimedia [more]
eLibrary Curriculum Edition A Texshare database A full text database
A comprehensive database designed specifically for K-12 students [more]
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Reference Center A full text database
Full text of the Encyclopædia with lots of added content. [more]
MasterFILE Premier A Texshare database A full text database
Magazine articles, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags [more]
CQ Researcher A full text database
In-depth, unbiased analysis and reporting on current and controversial issues [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library A full text database
Reference eBooks from Gale on the arts, history, religion, and social science are always available [more]
NetLibrary eBooks A Texshare database A full text database
Comprehensive collection of online books and resource materials for all ages [more]
LearningExpressLibrary.com A full text database
Academic, civil service, GED, military, and professional and certification practice tests [more]
Recommended Web Sites: Homework Helpers A full text database
Links to sites freely available on the Web [more]

See APL's Wired for Youth Homework & Research Links for more resources. AISD libraries also provide databases for students in the district. Contact your school librarian or administrator for information on how to log on to the Knowledge Portal from your home computer.

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000