skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only

Countries & Cultures

See also History & Government

Encyclopædia Britannica Online Reference Center A full text database
Full text of the Encyclopædia with lots of added content. [more]
Global Road Warrior A full text database
Social, cultural, travel, and business information for 175 countries [more]
Business Source Complete: Country Reports A TexShare database A full text database
Country reports from various sources [more]
Powerspeak Languages A full text database
Learn Spanish, French, Mandarin, German, or English for Spanish speakers [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library A full text database
Reference eBooks from Gale on the arts, history, religion, and social science are always available [more]
Religion & Philosophy Collection A TexShare database A full text database
Full-text journals with coverage of theology and philosophical studies [more]
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World A full text database
Covers Islam's role in the modern world [more]
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture A full text database
Covers food and its place in human culture and society. [more]
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online A full text database
French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese language resources [more]
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion A full text database
This three volume set covers clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. [more]
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) A TexShare database
Citations to articles covering native North American culture, history, and life [more]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000