skip to main content
Austin City Connection logo; link back to Austin City Connection home page
 
Options

Directory | Departments | FAQ | Links | Site Map | Help | Contact Us

 
Link to Reference Databases
Link to Austin Public Library home page Link to Library Catalog Link to Library Hours, Locations, and Phone Numbers Link to Reference Services Link to Library Youth Services Resources Link to Library News Link to Library Reference Links
 

Tools

Key

A TexShare Database TexShare database
A full text database full text database
Library use only in Library only

Primary Sources

A primary source is a document or record containing firsthand information or original data on a topic. Primary sources include original manuscripts, articles that first report original research or thought, diaries, memoirs, letters, journals, photographs, drawings, posters, film footage, sheet music, songs, interviews, government documents, public records, eyewitness accounts, newspaper clippings,...
Definition from the Baylor University Library

History Study Center A TexShare database A full text database
Historical reference material from ancient times through today's current events [more]
JSTOR A full text database
Academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences [more]
MasterFILE Premier A TexShare database A full text database
Magazine articles, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags [more]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Index to general-interest periodicals published in the US from 1890 - 1982 [more]
American Decades Primary Sources A full text database
Covers the twentieth century in 10 volumes. [more]
Student Research Center A TexShare database A full text database
Content includes magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, multimedia [more]
Salem History A full text database Library use only
Includes Milestone Documents in American History and The Sixties in America [more]
Factiva A full text database
More than 14,000 sources from 159 countries in 22 languages, plus company reports and current and historical market data [more]

Subject Guide

The reference databases are provided by the Austin Public Library and TexShare Texshare logo, a program of the Texas State Library & Archives Commission


Have problems, questions, or comments?
Ask a Librarian! Get the answers you need!

APL Privacy Statement

Funded in whole or in part by a Loan Star Libraries Grant authorized by the Texas Legislature and awarded by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to the Austin Public Library.


Official Seal of the City of Austin
Austin City Connection - The Official Web site of the City of Austin
Contact Us: Send Email or (512) 974-7400.
Legal Notices | Privacy Statement
© 1995 City of Austin, Texas. All Rights Reserved.
P.O. Box 1088, Austin, TX 78767 (512) 974-2000